top of page
  • Writer's pictureScott Hardy

Dam it Jim I'm a designer not a programmer

Updated: Mar 17, 2020


I can design systems. I can talk about how stealing an idol should trigger this giant boulder trap and how it will be annoying to the locals. I can talk about how doing this will make getting more museum piece 12% more difficult going forward.



I can Whitebox out levels and design how the light needs to bath this area in golden light or write out a full adventure to engage the mind and stimulate the senses.


What I cant do it program. Well, that's not really true, what I can't do is program to a high level. I can look at code and understand what it does or I can spot the odd error in some stuff. But I just haven't looked at how to implement AI and trying feels more like spinning my wheels.


In my Final Major Project plan I wanted to do my reflections in a few weeks, but im doing it now. Im not strong enough in programming to build what I want. If this was something I was building as a part of a team then its will be perfect and I would hand it off to a team member to do. As I did with untalked about 20 man rpg .


This used to send me into a spiral of self-doubt and killing myself with long hours of study to gain the skills I need to do it. But instead of doing that this time I'm going to change direction and go off the skills I already have.


Let's just hope my course leader accepts my proposal.







12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page