top of page
  • Writer's pictureScott Hardy

Marketing



So I need to market my game, but really I need to market myself


Nathan Lovato has a nice post about marketing an indie game for free. It really comes down to making it easy to see and share: https://gameanalytics.com/blog/marketing-indie-game-without-budget.html


And as always GDC's youtube page has a few gems.

in "No Time, No Budget, No Problem: Finishing The First Tree: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g5f7yixtQPc&t=1s " A video I have talked about before, David Wehle talks about "Gifblity " something Lovato also talked about deeply.


In "How to Write Games for the Internet without Embarrassing Yourself" Leighton Gray talks about building a following and the meme ability of their game. The Meme format they put out gave them recognition and helped build a social media following.


But having a large social media following always enough, much to the surging of Noah of Black Tron Prod. In his video "How much MONEY did I earn with my indie game on STEAM?" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W7gVO_Fd-_0

Even with his highly rated game, and his 200k followers on youtube , and with 5000 people with his game on the wishlist's he still didn't do very well.


Reaching out to companies and asking for advice can be a good way of getting your foot in the door. And trying to keep in contact with any people you meet at events and the like would be a clever thing to do too.


I been able to meet some cool game devs via tabletop roleplaying games, hopeful the fans Im building there will be of use to me going forward too.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page