top of page
  • Writer's pictureScott Hardy

Oh for a checkbox.


So I am an advocate of buying engines and assets. You see online other developers scoffing at not building everything from scratch, but these guys don't seem to have any completed projects at all.


Grabbing an engine helped with the two-week game jam where I made a point-and-click adventure game the fact that "adventure creator" creator Chris Burton tutorials are amazing and while "Corgi Engine" has tutorials made by Renaud Forestié they pale in comparisons to his puzzle counterpart.


This shows when I been stuck on the inventory menu while building this final major project all for the want of a checkbox.


The downside of using someone else code is that little checkbox that needs to be checked for every other bit of code and design to work can get skipped. So if you don't have your own code or coder then something small like this can be missed and waste several weeks of work.


However, I feel happier. I fill I can solve the issues holding me back from this game and work more on implementing my full design.







.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page