top of page
  • Writer's pictureScott Hardy

Peer Review: James Nethercott And Matthew Pendleton

Updated: to add Matthew Pendleton, their websites are very similar.

Part of building our brands is to look at other peoples personal websites and review them. See what tips I can grab and what I would do differently. So firstly I will start by looking and my classmates and then move on to other personal websites in general.

Im going to try and be as honest as I can be and reflect on how each part of the website makes me feel.


This is going to be a quick one, I feel James and Matt hasn't spent time on his site yet and it would be a disservice to them to pull it apart. When they updates it I will re-review it.


Both their sites feels like the Wix template. It feels the only thing that has changed on this site are their names. Even James about me section feels super generic.


-generic stock photo via wix

Scrolling down we have a Thomas Edison quote, but its white text is lost on a mostly white background image on james, and a Oscar Wilde one on Matts.

After that, we have a google street view of james current house, this seems VERY unwise.

Unless Matthew has a summer home in san fran he is using the stock location.

There is also a place to put their phone numbers but this has been left as 123-456-7890


Matt has a strange gallery full of stock videos showing he hasn't had the time to fix his site.

At the top of his page is a "work section" its little text and hard to spot. It leads to a bunch of images, they seem very random with 3 of the 12 leading to his work and the others just being dead ends.


Mat has a few blogs posts about his FMP, I wish him luck in them. He should look at using the # tags to catalogue his posts. I am worried that he has taken off more then he can chew on his FMP seeing the stage he is at with less than 50 days left.


James also has 3-4 blogs, with his first one being the Wix Place holder. Next, is his second blog post called "My first post" It has some really nice screenshots, but they are from in engine workspace rather than a nice in-game screenshot. The last two are screenshots of overwatch art and how he will use these to connect to his FMP.


James has also got the chatbot window, I have this too on my site and seeing it in action makes me want to remove it, I felt it was novel when implementing it , but its made to look and feel like a chat window when really it's going to act as a mailbox. This will leave the website viewer feeling frustrated.


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page