top of page
  • Writer's pictureScott Hardy

Rock Paper Scissor RPG

Updated: Mar 17, 2020

So I have been starting to diversify my portfolio as I seem to have a complete lack of mobile games.


So over the weekend, among my tiny amount of downtime that the final year of uni can give me, I started on a rock paper scissors RPG.

In my youth, I have this strong memory of going to see the yu-gi-oh and going to the local bowling ally next door.

There I ending up sinking all my paper round money into a strange arcade game that gave you cards when you played it.


After coming from the high of the Yugi vs Kaiba in the Battle City Finals the card battling really hit me hard.

I also was amazed by an arcade game that had a pseudo save mechanic. I would get better cards the more I played letting me get further. And once I was done playing for that day I had something to take away with me, something games like House of the Dead or Silent Scope my normal go to games.


This game came back into my life when I was playing Yakuza Kiwami. However, the cute beetles were replaced with cute girls. The biggest change, however, was that you got cards from story progression and finding the around the Yakuza game rarther getting a new card every time you played.

The other draw-back to playing it this way was the unfairness that people felt when sometimes the computer would win no matter what you did. This sort of mechanic is fine in an arcade, but on a console game, the unfairness just felt like a time-waster rather than fun.


I hate this shit-head

So keeping these things in mind I'm designing this game to keep the fun collectible elements. Add in some RPG leveling up and boom! A fun little mobile game.


So I have some basic gameplay and AI up and running. RPG mechanics are next when I can squeeze this app between my FMP and life



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page