top of page
  • Writer's pictureScott Hardy

Working From home


So it's been hard, working from home. Normally I would head into the university and I have that clear idea in my mind that I would be there for work and I would be less likely to spend the whole day watching Youtube or playing video games. Now working at home I have wasted days saying things like "Oh I will just watch this" or "That needs cleaning up".


Now we are on lockdown (1), I need to break these bad habits. Funnily, it seems I'm not the only one dealing with this issue.

Solent has always given students to other online learning programs, and trending on LinkedinLearning currently is " Time Management: Working from Home"


So my current number one priority is to watch this. I'm also going to get back into my checkbox system.



The Checkbox system is where I take an A4 printout or graph paper and fill out a small box each time I complete a task. This might be a little as watching one section of a video that is only 5 minutes long or something as big as updating the UI elements on my game. Each box for me is how much effort it takes to do. If its a task that I would normally get bored doing the Its worth more boxes then one that might be hard and take a long time but I really enjoy doing. The check-boxes on the page are also not just limited to my work, but my day in general. I sometimes forget to eat and will go all day on a few cups-o-tea or I will spend all day sitting down. So getting up and away from the PC is also worth a box. This blog post too is worth a box.


Each of these different types of task form a different island and its entertaining watching the "Dungeons and Dragons Prep" Island and " "Household Chores" island struggle in an alliance vs the grand empire of "Uni Work" .


So going forward I'm going to refocused and start work again.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page